Senate

The Student Union Senate is responsible for the recognition and chartering of clubs, the maintenance of the Union Bylaws, and a variety of other more specific initiatives. The Senate regularly meets once a week to discuss a variety of motions and items on its weekly agenda, which is published two days prior to each meeting.

The Senate is made up of over twenty representatives from the Brandeis community. Every residential quad elects one Senate representative, and every class year elects two. There are also representatives from the following communities. One Senator is elected by the off-campus community. One Senator is elected by students that have declared themselves as members of a racial minority group to the registrar. Two Senators are elected by the entire student body at-large. Finally, one Senator is elected by the incoming midyear class.

Elections for the Senate occur throughout the year. Quad Senators, the Off-Campus Senator, and Class Senators from the incoming first-year class are elected in the fall when classes resume. In the winter, regular elections are held for Midyear Senator, and special elections are held for any seats vacant at the start of the semester. Finally, the remaining Class Senator, Racial Minority Senator, and Senator-at-Large seats are elected at the end of the Spring semester for terms served the following year. For more information on how to run for Senate, check out our elections page.

To see who is serving on your Senate this year, see below.

To meet with the Senate, please check out the Office Hours.

The majority of the Senate's work is done through the Senate's eight committees, listed below.

Senators

An Image

Aaron Finkel

Executive Senator | Senator-at-Large | Chair of Services and Outreach Committee

asfinkel@brandeis.edu

An Image

Shaquan McDowell

Senator-at-Large | Chair of Campus Operations Working Group

smcdowell@brandeis.edu

An Image

Hangil Ryu

Racial Minority Senator

hryu@brandeis.edu

An Image

Linfei Yang

International Student Senator

linfei@brandeis.edu

An Image

Abhishek Kulkarni

Class of 2018 Senator | Chair of Bylaws Committee

abhishek@brandeis.edu

An Image

Matt Kowalyk

Class of 2018 Senator

mattkcat@brandeis.edu

An Image

Benedikt Reynolds

Class of 2019 Senator | Chair of Sustainability Committee

benediktr@brandeis.edu

An Image

Vidit Dhawan

Class of 2019 Senator

vidit@brandeis.edu

An Image

Tal Richtman

Class of 2020 Senator | Chair of Club Support Committee

talrichtman@brandeis.edu

An Image

Yuxuan (Jonathan) Chen

Class of 2020 Senator | Chair of Dining Committee

jonathanyxchen@brandeis.edu

An Image

Rachel McAllister

Class of 2021 Senator

rmcallister@brandeis.edu

An Image

Noah Nguyen

Class of 2021 Senator

nhinghy@brandeis.edu

An Image

Agnes Nkansah

Myra Kraft Transitional Year Program Senator

An Image

Qingtian Mei

Massell Quad Senator

frankmei@brandeis.edu

An Image

Josh Hoffman

North Quad Senator

saramello@brandeis.edu

An Image

Samantha Barrett

East Quad Senator | Chair of Health and Safety Committee

sammiebarr@brandeis.edu

An Image

Lizy Dabanka

Rosenthal Quad Senator | Chair of Social Justice and Diversity Committee

edabanka@brandeis.edu

An Image

Oliver Price

Charles River/567 Senator

osprice@brandeis.edu

An Image

Matthew Stenerson

Off-Campus Senator

msternerson@brandeis.edu

An Image

Isaac Zukin

Ziv Quad Senator

izukin@brandeis.edu

An Image

Casey Lamar

Foster Mods Senator

clamar@brandeis.edu

An Image

Richard Kisack Jr.

Village Quad Senator

rkisack@brandeis.edu

An Image

Leigh Salomon

Ridgewood Quad Senator

leighsalomon@brandeis.edu